The Burning Questions – The Best Friend Edition

So me and my best friend Ruth are thick as thieves – I believe we share approximately 5,000 whatsapp messages a day – If I don’t know what Ruth is wearing, eating, watching on a daily basis my day simply isn’t complete!

In some ways we are very similar (we both adore makeup and fashion, animals, irrational rage moments and each other!) and in other ways on paper people may say we are totally different (She doesn’t drink or swear all that often and I do both, way more often than I should!) but despite differences she it without a doubt my soul mate.

So after reading the section at the back of Stylist when they ask deep and meaningful questions I thought it would be fun to both complete the same questions and see how they differ – so here it goes!

What is the meaning of life?

Me: To be happy – I think if you aren’t happy in life surely you’re missing it?

Ruth: To be happy. That’s it. And to fall in love if you’re lucky enough.

 

What is the difference between right and wrong?

Me: I would say its personal, but if you feel real guilt (one of the worst feelings in my opinion) then it was no doubt in the wrong category!

Ruth: Wrong things are selfish and usually hurt other people. Right is about fairness, and being able to see past the benefits or risks to yourself.

 

Where is your happy place?

Me: On my sofa with Hubby, twiglet on our knee and a bottle of wine. As in a physical place, it’s a tossup between Disneyland Paris and Dunkeld in Scotland.

Ruth: It used to be my bedroom in my old flat but it’s gone now (sob) so I think it’s the beach at Croy shore in Ayrshire.

 

Nature or Nurture?

Me: I would say nurture – after all we aren’t all born knowing how to create great things, it’s about inspiring and encouragement – I totally believe you can grow certain talents if you invest time.

Ruth: I think nature – I believe we are all hardwired to be as we are, and we are all different. I think no matter how you’re raised you have your own personality under there and it’ll show in the right situations.

 

Is it more important to be liked or respected?

Me: Oh lord this is hard – can’t you be both? I think being liked, I do hate the thought of people disliking me!

Ruth: The right answer here feels like respected, but I think the more honest answer is to be liked. Nobody wants to feel like they are not liked, and they definitely don’t think to themselves oh well it’s okay that nobody likes me because I am well respected. Maybe they are one and the same?

 

If you could be remembered for one thing, what would it be?

Me: ‘Didn’t see always look flawless’ – JOKES! I would like to be remembered for inspiring people, if I can even inspire one person I will be very happy.

Ruth: I don’t know – I don’t particularly want to be remembered for anything, other than by the people I love. I suppose writing a really good book that inspired people and provided some respite from the daily trials and tribulations of everyday life (and office working!)

 

Who or what is your greatest love?

Me: Seems obvious but hubby (Ruth you’re a totes close second then would be Twiglet!) he is my world.

Ruth: My husband! Easy!

 

When did you last lie?

Me: Haha about 2 minutes ago when a guy said ‘mind if I sit here’ – I said no. I mind.

Ruth: I am not a very good liar. I expect some time in the last few days, a small white lie like yes I did check the door is locked or yes I have been eating healthy or yes I have done that really annoying work task you asked me to do 2 weeks ago…

 

Does the Supernatural exist?

Me: I like to believe it does, that people who have gone are still around you and all that. It gives me comfort even it is a whole pile of rubbish!

Ruth: Nope I don’t think so. I think it’s something people make up to either make themselves feel better, because they have gone a bit cray cray or they love the thrill of being a bit terrified. But it’s not real. The human body and mind are real and both are very clever; any encounters with the other world can be attributed to that, I believe.

Are you fatalistic?

Me: Yes – I believe that things happen for a reason, but I believe you can change your fate through the decision you make.

Ruth: I am somewhere in between – I think that the lessons we learn when things go wrong always float back to us when something better comes around. Which some people attribute to fate, but I attribute it to just learning a lesson and that only makes you stronger (or better equipped to deal with life…!). I also believe that the phrase “what’s for you won’t go by you” provides a lot of mental comfort.

 

What is your greatest fear?

Me: Of loosing anymore people who are close to me, I’m not sure I can go through it again – think its an overall fear of being alone.

Ruth: Being stuck in the middle of the big wide ocean. Argh. It’s too deep.

 

Per pain threshold question – breaking a bone! In the middle of the sea…

 

Animals or Babies?

Me: Just now its animals – my cat Twiglet is basically my baby and she gets spoiled as if she was haha! Give it another year the answer may flip over though!

Ruth: Animals! I am not a maternal person.

What talent do you yearn for?

Me: To be able to sing, mostly so I can sing ‘I dreamed a dream’ from Les Mes – so beautiful.

Ruth: This is a tough question! Anything I put here (e.g. singing) are things I think I would like to do but in reality I would probably hate it (i.e. standing in front of lots of people being loud and looked at gives me palpitations).

 

I’ll opt for the boring option of “nothing”

 

Do you like being complimented?

Me: Yes. And anyone who says they don’t is lying! It gives you a great boost of self-confidence!

Ruth: Not really – I like to share the things I love (e.g. if I buy a new dress and someone says oh I love your dress I like to say “Me TOO, I loved it because XYZ and my best friend made me buy it because it fits perfectly and now I love wearing it etc etc”) So I suppose that means yes I do?

 

Do you have a high pain threshold?

Me: I like to think so – I’ve had a physio tell me I had a very pain threshold after dislocating a bone in my shoulder/collarbone and putting up with it for weeks before going to her to check it out!

Ruth: I like to think so but I am sure most people say that – I’ve never ever been in a lot of pain so I suppose I can’t really say. That has just reminded me of another fear – breaking a bone!

 

What book do you recommend most to others?

Me: That’s tough I don’t really recommend one book per say – I did tell a lot of people about my CBT workbook after I got it – it really helped me.

Ruth: Quiet by Susan Cain – I should probably revise this as it’s probably of interest to a certain subset of people, but it was pretty meaningful to me! Otherwise Creativity Inc by Ed Catamull or  A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.

 

Which lesson has been the hardest to learn?

Me: That sometime the situation really, really sucks and there genuinely isn’t anything you can do about it.

Ruth: That it’s okay to be me. I always felt different to the kids at school and it’s taken me a long time to get out of that mentality – I am now 28 and still feel out of place in certain groups or situations. It’s a societal thing.

 

What food sums up happiness?

Me: Easy!! Mac & Cheese every time – It is my all-time favourite food and never fails to make me smile – I have been known to eat it for breakfast.

Ruth: Chocolate.

 

What have you never understood?

Me: Cruelty to animals – how can you hurt something that can’t speak up for itself. Honestly it makes me sick I get so upset.

Ruth: Space. Another thing that’s too deep. Terrifying.

 

What is the one thing you want to know before you die?

Me: Did Ross & Rachel from Friends ever get married? JOKES AGAIN – I want to know that my family are settled and happy and have good lives

Ruth: These are too hard! Ummm…if I can be successful (by my own definition) and live the life I think I want to live. Or maybe that should be finding out if the life I think I want to live will actually make me happy…

 

Are you scared of dying or what happens when you die?

Me: I think it depends on the circumstance or how you die? But I guess a little, but I think that’s natural.

Ruth: No. I am a bit scared of leaving those I love behind. I want to still be around to comfort them since that is one of my big jobs in life, but by definition I will not be there and that makes me sad.

 

Quinoa or Quavers?

Me: Quinoa – I find it tasty plus I wont waste crisps on wimpy quavers – give me a McCoy any day!

Ruth: Quavers. I am not a quinoa fan (tastes like boiled sand), although I am trying. Very hard.

So there you have it! A lot of questions similar but also some very different – we had super fun completing it and hope you enjoy it!

Until next time!

Little Lemon x

Leave a Reply

