Book Review – The Rosie Project by Greame Simsion

imagesAfter my disappointment of my first book of the year (Go Set a Watchman – I wrote a review on that one so check it out!) I was wanting something light, fun that was going to make me smile – and The Rosie Project by Greame Simsion ticked all those boxes.

The story follows Don Tillman, a 39 year old with undiagnosed Asperger’s type lifestyle, who’s day is scheduled down to what meal he eats on what day. I think I liked Don so much as he reminds me of Sheldon Cooper from Big Bang Theory (my fav show) mixed with my husband (he loves nothing more than ‘aduiting’ – whether it’s our freezer or his shirt collection – no joke!).

Don has two married friends who he enlists to help him find a wife, affectionately named ‘The Wife Project’, which ends up as a long, incredibly detailed survey to find the perfect partner, covering topics such as STDs, eating habits and career goals! Gene, the husband puts Rosie forward for the wife project, and despite being totally unsuitable, Don and her become friends. Rosie also asks for Don’s help with her own project, finding out her biological father, aka The Father Project, which through the book ends them up in some rather funny situations.

I am sure it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work out where the plot goes, but despite that I still enjoyed The Rosie Project immensely. The writing is simple but effective and Don’s internal monologue really gives you an insight into his world, and you can’t help but root for him as a character. Rosie is also a strong character, she doesn’t have the same relatability but I think that works well as a balance against Don.

As part of our world’s smallest book club, my lemon bestie is currently reading this book and is loving to so far, and even my step mum Cat read it and enjoyed it – it is a book with universal appeal and I think you will be hard pushed to find someone who’s cold hard isn’t warmed by this delightful read.

Until next time!

Little Lemon xxx

Leave a Reply

