My Current Skincare Routine

I feel like I am having a skin moment, I have recently been investing in my skincare and I’ve become obsessed but I think it’s paying off! Infact the other day I braved a makeup free face for a morning yoga class at work and someone commented on how flawless and fresh faced I looked – HIGH FIVE!
My skin has changed so much over the years. In my teens, living in Scotland my skin was incredibly greasy and I was prone to bad breakouts of acne not only on my face but on my back and chest too. I wouldn’t say I had the worst acne and it wasn’t all the time, but when it did flare up it was incredibly painful, and what never helped was I am a picker. That’s right, my name is Meghan Walsh and I am a spot picker – I just can’t help myself!!!

I found the biggest change in my skin was when I moved to London, the change in the water instantly turned my greasy hair and skin dehydrated and parched! It did see my breakouts get a lot less but I found my skin to be blotchy and stressed looking, until now!

So what is my secret? I am religious when it comes to my skincare routine, it was hammered into me by my mum (who had fabulous skin, btw) at a young age that your skin and your eyes are the two things that are with you forever, so look after and invest in them! So that is what I do, so here are my routines!

IMG_1888.JPG

Morning

Liz Earle – Cleanse and Polish – I love this cleanser and have done for years, it is refreshing and comforting and leaves your skin feeling soft and fresh

Liz Earle – Instant Boost Toner – This toner is a fantastic pick me up in the morning – it is so refreshing it’s incredible!

Benefit – Puff Off – This is a new purchase and I don’t know what I did without it – it has made a huge difference to my under eye area including getting rid of some tough under the eye spots I had! Amazing!

Body Shop – Drops of Youth Concentrate – First and foremost – the packaging on this product is RUBBISH. It is a pipette system to dispense the thick fresh gel but it doesn’t really work! That being said the product itself is great – the gel is absorbed super quickly into the skin and gives an fantastic additional boost of hydration and leaves a good base for makeup.

Liz Earle – Skin Repair Moisturiser for Dry/Sensitive skin – I find this moisturiser is the perfect balance of kick ass hydration but doesn’t clog my skin. I have tried super intensive types before and I have found they were just too heavy and broke me out – but this is just right – it’s like the goldilocks of face creams!

At times – Bioderma H2O sensitive Micellar Water – I use this on the rare occasion I am not having a shower and this takes the place of the cleanse and polish and boost toner stages of the above!

IMG_1889

Evening

I genuinely love the process of taking off my makeup at night and doing my skincare routine – I find it a great way to acknowledge in my head that its bed time!

Dermologica – Pre Cleanse – I picked this up after a wonderful facial – it is an oil to milk formula which is by far one of the best things I’ve found at removing even the most stubborn makeup. It leaves you feeling super fresh and clean!

Bioderma H2O sensitive Micellar Water – This is the step I use as my second cleanse, to make sure all traces of makeup are gone. I just sweep this all over my face.

Body Shop – Drops of Youth Eye Concentrate – This eye treatment is dispensed by a clever combination of pump and cool metal rollerball, which is super cooling – perfect for me as I spend all day in front of a computer screen!

Then either…

IMG_1893Sunday Riley – Luna Oil – I heard SO MUCH hype about this product I was intrigued – and it lives up to all the hype. This I think single handedly has made the biggest improvement in my skin. I’m not going to lie – this is expensive (!!) but in my opinion worth it and a 30ml bottle goes a long way. Don’t be put off by the fact its bright blue oil – it soaks in to leave your skin looking clear, fresh and flawless in the morning. It is the closest thing to 8 hours sleep in a bottle I think you can get. Due to its expensive nature, I alternate using this and…

Body Shop – Drops of Youth Bouncy Sleeping Mask – this mask is also a super great (and significantly more affordable) alternative to the Luna oil. It has a funny jelly like texture (It looks a little like panna cotta if I’m honest!) and a little goes a long way. I slather this all over and I find my skin instantly feels softer – in the morning it feels super plump, plump enough that pillow creases stay embedded in my skin even after a shower!

IMG_1890

Weekly

These are products I use on a weekly basis as an extra boost to my routine – usually while lounging in a deep, relaxing bath!

Liz Earle – Gentle Facial Exfoliator – this exfoliator is wonderful, it’s creamy yet effective without feeling rough on the skin, by far the best exfoliator I’ve found.

Nip + Fab – Kale Softening Clay Mask – this is the newest addition to my routine, it’s a perfect mix of softening while still feeling like it gives you a deep clean – perfect!

Glam Glow – Deep Cleansing Mask – I break this out when I need a really deep cleanse, or if I’m having trouble with breakouts. It’s expensive for a little tub, but a little does go a long way, especially if you use it targeted areas such as the nose and chin (where I get my breakouts). I’m not going to lie, it smells weird but it works, my pores instantly look smaller and blackheads gone on my nose – so swings and roundabouts!

So that’s what is working for me right now – keep in mind what works for me might not work for anyone else. I am finding I don’t have to wear as much makeup – in fact I’ve downgraded from foundation of medium coverage to light tinted formulas and I without a doubt have more confidence without my slap on!

I will keep you updated on any changes to the routine or new products I’m loving – so, until next time!

 

Little Lemon xxx

 

Leave a Reply

