The Nutrition Debate

Now, the title of this post may be a little misleading, I am not debating how important nutrition is or anything like that – it is more about differing peoples approach and views on nutrition and what is seen as healthy. I am also not saying that I am an expert in nutrition, in the past two weeks I have attended two sessions held by a nutritionist which I found interesting and made me question things in my life style, and when speaking with my bestie it became apparent we both had very different views and opinions when it came to our approach to healthy lifestyles.

But first, I did learn things from my nutritionist sessions which I found incredibly interesting and thought provoking…so I thought I would share them with you!

  • If sugar is listed as the first 3 ingredients in a product then it is classified as a desert – so a lot of your breakfast cereals such as Weetabix – technically a pudding – shocking!
  • Drinking hot water and lemon can change your life (apparently!) the woman told us that if we did one thing, drinking hot water and lemon first thing will start your metabolism, cleanse you and generally make you feel brighter than coffee does!
  • You need carbs, protein and fat in all meals – with at least 60% carbs but also that carbs include fruit and veg not just pastas and bread!
  • That your stomach capacity is as bit and putting your two palms next to each other – it is much smaller than you think!
  • You should eat every 3-4 hours to keep your body metabolising and your energy levels steady, this includes snacks and the key – including protein and carbs together in a healthy way.

It was genuinely fascinating and I have even looked into having a one on one session about some of the ways I can adapt my lifestyle, but here is the catch – I truly believe in an 80/20 approach – healthy eating 80% of the time and 20% being able to treat yourself and it is this which is causing debate.

I feel that life is too short to deprive yourself of anything, you get one life and you know what, if eating a giant bowl of cheesy pasta or a chocolate bar here and there makes you happy – go for it! It is about balance – balancing healthy eating with treats with being active and you will be all good. It feels these days there is a lot of judgement and conflicting messages – carbs are bad, sugar is bad we should all eat a plant based diet – and I can see the benefits but I also know that as my mum would put it ‘a little bit of what you fancy does you good’. I think Gizzi Erskine is a great advocate for that mind-set and I love that she has spoken out about it and bucked the current trend. I also love Jo Wicks and his lean in 15 series – it is real food cooked in a normal way and it’s not about cutting things out or going to the extreme – when you see the results people get from following it, it’s phenomenal!

My bestie has a differing view – that we should train ourselves to not feel the need to ‘treat’ ourselves because that is a bad habit – and it’s a dangerous path to go down if you let yourself cheat if you’ll make up for it later which I totally get, but I feel I have the willpower to be strict with myself when I need too.

So what changes am I going to be making? Well I will be having a follow on session that’s more tailored to me (I am very interested in exploring the relationship between diet and nutrition and anxiety and depression, as well as addressing some of my other health needs  like a lack of iron) and I think I can embrace a cup of hot water and lemon each day! I also know that the areas I fall down are things like breakfast – so this weekend I will be doing some research in what makes a perfect breakfast for during the week! I have also bought a whole range of new cook books based on reducing sugar and eating smart carbs and some healthy alternatives to your favourite comfort foods – I plan on doing some reviews on those in coming weeks, how easy they are to follow, how easy the ingredients are to source – you get the idea!

So watch this space – until next time

Little Lemon xxx

Leave a Reply

