Brand Review – Tarte

 

IMG_2429 [13182]American brand Tarte have been on my radar for a while, but I couldn’t get my sticky paws on anything from the range until hubby took a recent trip to the US of A. I had done some online research and also felt there was a gap in my makeup collection for some good quality matte eyeshadows so the Amazonian clay eyeshadow palette was the first thing on my buy list from hubby.

This palette really is to die for, it contains 12 beautiful, creamy pigmented matte shadows in neutrals which flatter all skin types.  Each row starts with a light shade and then goes along with each row with shades of a similar tone but getting darker as they go along. My favourite are the cooler grey-purple toned shades in the middle of the palette – they are perfect to create a neutral eye for paring with a bright lip.  Also the packaging is just to die for – it feels super luxurious and the mirror is incredible.

After being so impressed with my first foray I was hooked and wanted more, and more and more. After much Instagram lusting next on my list was the new ‘Rainforest of the Sea’ collection – which let’s face it looks STUNNING and the products inside are pretty damn good too!

Let’s start with the Rainforest of the Sea “Drink of H2O moisturiser”. Firstly I will say I was a little disappointed in the packaging, it looks beautiful but feels a little…well cheap. I think for the price a glass jar wouldn’t have gone a miss but that aside the product inside is great. I have dry/combination skin and this really does feel super fresh and hydrating. It has a slight gel texture so gives an instant wake-up boost when you apply, it sinks in quickly and leaves you with a smooth base for makeup. It also boasts skin balancing properties supporting antiaging and helps boost the appearance of firmness tone, and vitality over time – winner!

Next was the water foundation, claim to be a lightweight, full coverage hydrating foundation infused with tarte’s Rainforest of the Sea complex.  This is a lovely foundation but I wouldn’t say it is full coverage but it is lightweight and I think it could be buildable. It is a little tricky to work with at first as it turns from liquid to powder upon application so you have to work it quick – the best way I’ve found is with a super damp Real Techniques Complexion sponge. It gives a lovely soft glow finish and has great staying power while being hydrating – it will definitely become one of my go too foundations.

Lastly, what I believe is the star of the show (that will be hilarious in a moment) the STUNNING ‘Twinkle Lighting’ face palette with 3 beautiful highlighters.  These 3 highlighters give you everything you could possible need, cool toned, warm toned with a beautiful glow without being overly sparkly. This palette is exclusive to Sephora from what I’ve found but trust me – it’s worth the shipping UK ladies! I’ve used this every day since I got it – I’m hooked!

Safe to say I so far have been impressed by everything I’ve tried so far from the Tarte brand, will I be purchasing more – YOU BET! The good news is for us UK peeps you can buy the majority of the range from QVC online – next on my list is there liquid lipsticks and maybe a cheeky plush or two!

This is the first brand specific post I’ve done – if you like this post please let me know and I’ll try and do more in the future!

Until next time
Little Lemon xx

Leave a Reply

