Travel Makeup Bag – What made in it?

So next week I am off up to my motherland for a week of pure R&R in a lodge in the woods. I am lucky enough have a timeshare in what I believe is one of the most beautiful places ever called Dunkeld. It is one of the few places in the world I can totally switch off and relax.

Current plans include visiting a whisky distillery, a spa day with one of my best friends and amongst that yoga, running, swimming, walking, reading and eating. Sounds blissful right?

One of the greatest things about these kind to get aways is being able to pare down your normal make-up routine, give your skin time to breathe – I have no doubt I will be enjoying more makeup free days than not!

But I would feel totally naked if I didn’t take some make-up with me so below is what I plan on taking in my makeup bag with me but with a very pair down offering – so if you’re interested what I’m taking then keep reading!

IMG_2426 [7903]

Million Dollar Moisturiser – Lush

This is a recent discovery of mine and its perfect under-make up or on no makeup days to make your skin look awake and glowing. It’s thick and creamy containing almond, sesame seed and oatmeal and boasts SPF 30 which is amazing. The cream has a warm toned gleam to it which makes your face feel super bright and glowing – and it has a lovely comforting vanilla smell with touches of lavender – it’s such a treat for the skin and will do wonders after being in the swimming pool which I always find dries my skin out so much.

Hangover Primer – Too Faced

I will no doubt only be using this if I wear a base at all – but I find this just gives my skin an extra comforting boost of hydration. Does it make my makeup last longer, I’m not really sure but it does make your base go on smooth and just feels like a luxurious comforting step!

City Radiance Foundation & Concealer – Bourjois

 If I wear a base at all it will this one – I have been loving this combination for those good skin days when I want to just even out my complexion and brighten up my face. I find applying this with a damp complexion sponge is the best way for a light but flawless coverage. The concealer is perfect for those under eye areas to brighten up any dark circles. On those days I don’t want to wear makeup but want to have a bit of skin confidence I’ll pop a bit of concealer under the eyes and on any problem areas and blend that out

Hoola – Benefit

Everyone at times needs a bit of bronze goodness in their lives to help warm up their face and make them look a little healthier! At first I thought I was far too pale for bronzer but given a light touch anyone can wear it without looking muddy or dirty! I love the matte but warm hoola bronzer by benefit, it’s a cult product for a reason.

Becca Pressed Skin Perfector – Champagne Pop

This highlight which was a collaboration with American YouTube star Jacyln Hill (who is epic btw, you should check her out!) and it is incredible. It is a warm, gold based highlight which gives you the most glowing cheeks in the world – it is an instant pick me up and I am addicted. So much so in fact I fear since purchase I have been leaving the house with a slight disco ball face affect! Yes it’s a little pricey but it’s worth it – honestly!

Peanut Butter and Jelly Palette – Too Faced

I recently spoke about this in my March fav’s (which you can read here if you like!) and will be the perfect palette for traveling with. Filled with such beautiful warm, buttery shadows which can make a gorgeous neutral eye and also a smokier dramatic look for any evening looks I may need! Plus it smells like peanut butter – so divine.

Scandal Queen Mascara – Fairy Drops

So why am I taking this over my current fav mascaras (L’Oréal Sculpt and Too Faced Better than Sex if you were wondering), because this stuff is so waterproof it practically indestructible!!!! Honestly, I swear this stuff could survive an apocalypse so will be ideal for putting on in the morning and not having to worry too much if I fancy a gym session or a swim later in the day!

Maybelline Eyebrow Pomade – Brown

This chunky crayon is great for light touch brow work – when you just want to do a bit of filling in but nothing too dramatic like making your brows fuller, ideal for giving your face a little definition in a natural way. I find this product might look a little unusual being such a chunky crayon but it makes quick work of your brows! Saying this – I am getting my first ever HD Brows done before I go – so fingers crossed i wont need this! I will of course blog my HD Brow experience!

Lip Comfort Oil – Clarins

This little tube of golden shimmery sweet smelling oil is the perfect thing for dry lips. I have been on a liquid lipstick kick at the moment so my lips are a little dry at the moment so I will be slathering this on a lot! It has no colour but gives the lips a nice healthy sheen.

Colour Richie JLo’s Nude – L’Oréal

I will be surprised if this comes out of my makeup bag but I feel a bit lost if I don’t have a nude lip to hand! This shade is gorgeous and really is a ‘your lips but better’ shade which I love. I think a nude lip is the perfect complement for a warm eye – which will be my go to look for any evenings or day out looks!

So that’s it – all I’m taking with me and I look forward to a more natural few days! I will be putting up a photo diary of my week away so no doubt you’ll get to see the affects then!

Until next time

Little Lemon xxx

 

Leave a Reply

