My Everything by Katie Marsh – Book Review

th4AA8HJASI am not exaggerating when I say I read this book in 3 days, once I had started it I couldn’t put it down, and I am not usually one for love stories which is essentially at the core of My Everything.

The story follows Hannah and starts as she is finally braving leaving her workaholic husband Tom, for her dream job abroad. When she goes upstairs to break the news she finds Tom struck down by a stroke at the age of 32, leaving him unable to work and communicate at first.

The chapters jump back and forth, from Hannah’s internal struggle with giving up her dream to care for her husband she has fallen out of love with, to Tom whose chapters start with the story of how they met, fell in love and got married – merging with the present towards the end. There is also some great secondary characters, like Tom’s sister Julie who is a strangely loveable brat.

Doesn’t sound like your typical love story right? Well upon caring for Tom and adapting to their new lifestyle they rediscover each other, and fall in love all over again.

The story picks up on the importance of remaining an individuals in relationships, remembering that marriages take time, being bullied at work and the ever discussed work-life balance.

Overall I loved ‘My Everything’ – it was heartfelt, clever and surprisingly light at times which I didn’t expect with the subject matter. If you are looking for a read which will lift you up and maybe snap your priorities in order – I would definitely recommend ‘My Everything’.

I am off away for a Scottish retreat soon with a lot of reading on the cards so expect a lot more book recommendations in the coming weeks!

Until next time

Little Lemon xxxx

Leave a Reply

