The Fab 5 – Liquid Lipsticks

I am totally addicted to liquid lipsticks at the moment – especially those of a matte variety! Over the past month or so my collection has just grown and grown and they are now some of my favourite lip colours in my whole collection. Below are my top 5 – in no particular order because it’s far too hard to pick a favourite!

IMG_2417 [7901]

  1. Stila Liquid Lipstick in Amore

This was a buy while on a girly weekend away, I love a dark lip and think it looks super vampy and gorgeous but wasn’t sure if this would be for me. In the tube it looks like a deep reddy purple shade but on the lips it is out and out deep purple berry colour. It is perfect with a pared down, demi-matte face and a simple outfit, in this instance you have to let your lips do the talking! The formula is pretty long lasting but I do find it dries out the lips which makes reapplication tricky if you’re on the go.

  1. Mac Retro Matte Liquid Lipstick in Tailored Tease

I had seen a lot about these lip colours online so I had to try them out for myself. I was tempted by the red shades but I wanted something bright and eye-catching for spring/summer. This is a bright fuchsia pop which brightens up any look. The tapered wand makes application super simple and precise which is what you need with this kind of colour. The finish is matte but it’s super comforting on the lips and has amazing lasting power, on a work day I only had to top up once after lunch.

  1. Kylie Jenner Lipkit in Dolche K

I have been dying to get my hands on one of these lipkits since they first come out, and it was so worth the wait. This lip-liner and liquid lipstick combo really packs a punch in the pigment and staying power steaks. The liner is super soft and creamy and is so easy to apply (even for shaky handed folk like me!) and the liquid lipstick goes on super wet but dries down quickly. The DolcheK colour is a gorgeous nude which is more on the brown side, perfect for that nineties look everyone is coveting at the moment. The only negative I have on this is I can’t stomach the smell – it smells really sweet and I am not a fan of overly perfumed face products, but for the quality I am willing to overlook (or smell…) it, infact I love it so much I have KokoK turning up shortly!

  1. Revlon Ultra HD Matte Liquid Lipstick in Red (no actual name!)

For a cheaper, drugstore (that’s Boots/Superdrug to us UK ladies!) this is phenomenal. I am not going to lie I have this in about 4 colours already but this deep gorgeous red is my favourite. This packs the same punch from a pigment perspective as higher end offerings, and it lasts for ages – I think I had to top up around 3 times throughout the day which in my opinion is great. Similar to the Mac format, it is matte but has a comforting velvet feeling on the lips so is super comfortable. If you haven’t tried a liquid lipstick before I would highly suggest this as a first foray.

  1. Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in Bow & Arrow

This was a gift from hubby when he came back from the US and was the lipstick that started this obsession. Bow & Arrow is similar to the Kylie Lipkit but is a little paler and great to wear as an everyday colour, sometimes to make it more neutral than brown toned I put a pale pink liner underneath. The staying power of these isn’t as long as the others but it is super comfortable on the lips. I love the packaging however the wand is very long and can make application a little tricky if you don’t have a mirror to hand! I also have the infamous colour ‘Lolita’ turning up in the post soon – I can’t wait!

So those are my favourite lip’s which I’ve been rocking recently – what I will say is ensure you put lip balm on morning and night to prevent your lips drying out then your good to go!

Until next time!

Little Lemon xx

 

Leave a Reply

