Monthly Fav’s – April

Another month gone, where is this year going?! I can’t believe that we are in the 5th month of the year! April was a good month, there was lots of things I was loving and I had a lovely week back in Scotland for some rest and relaxation – if you want to read about it then I have written a post about the trip so click here to read all about it!

So this month I have a random mix of favourites, from TV shows, some beauty & skincare things (naturally) and even food. So let’s get into it shall we?

  1. IMG_2644Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix

I LOVED the first season of this show and the second season of ‘Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt’ hit Netflix in the UK on the 16th of April and after I got back from my week away I binge watched this over 3 days. It is hilarious, I mean I was listening to this while working in the office and kept laughing out loud which got a few funny looks! If you aren’t aware of the show (in which case where have you been!) it is written and produced by Tina Fey (girl crush alert!) and follows Kimmy who was kidnapped and held in an underground bunker by ‘The Reverend’ for 15 years. She escapes and it is about her adjusting and learning the new way of things in New York. This leads to a lot of modern pop culture references, misunderstandings of new sayings and some awkward situation comedy all of which is totally brilliant. Oh and did I mention it has the catchiest theme tune ever…? It’s been stuck in my head FOR DAYS!

  1. IMG_2645Becca Highlighter – Champagne Pop

I mentioned this in my travel bag post (linked here if you want to check it out!) but I just had to mention it again in my fav’s because I have been totally addicted to this highlighter. An awesome collaboration between a make-up powerhouse and one of my favourite YouTubers Jacqueline Hill, this gold shimmery wonder is the perfect thing for brightening up your skin and giving you a glorious, dewy highlight. I have seen so many beauty bloggers talk about this, all of which have different skin tones and it seems to look stunning on everyone! What I will say is it is a full on highlight, so if you are looking for something more subtle then you might find this a bit intimidating, but with some clever blending you can make it wearable for all occasions!

  1. IMG_2648Kiehls Daily Reviving Concentrate

This day oil is the latest addition to my skincare routine after my loved ‘Drops of Youth’ serum from Body Shop. I love Kiehls products and used to use only their skincare, so I thought I would go back and try out their new offering. The serum contains ginger root, sunflower and tamanu oils which are meant to help with fatigue and texture in the skin, helping brighten up your complexion. I’ve only been using this serum for a week but I have already seen a difference which is amazing! I had been suffering with odd texture around my forehead and it’s vanished! It smells divine and has a lovely consistency, it doesn’t feel too oily on the skin but leaves you feeling super nourished. A little goes a long way and I’ve bought the big bottle – I swear it’s going to take me about a year to get through!

  1. hd-brow-logoHD Brows

Again, I have done a dedicated post about my HD brow experience here, so I won’t go on too much. I got my brows HD’d and I can’t tell you what a difference it’s made to me face and morning routine! It was also a god-send when I was away and had a make-up free week as it just gave my face a little definition. If you’re going to dish out for one treatment at a salon I would highly recommend it being this – such a revelation!

  1. IMG_2589Sourced Box

So following my meeting with a nutritionist and some un-nerving news from the doctor, I realised it was high time I sorted out my diet and more specifically my snacking. I was finding I was having dips in the afternoon which lead me searching for a naught snack, usually of the crisp or chocolate variety to give me a boost. Sourced box is a joint venture between fitness and health YouTubers Naomi Smart and Marcus Butler and is a monthly subscription box full of healthy snacks from a number of suppliers. Costs differ depending on the service you sign up for, but I have the monthly cancel anytime subscription for £12.95 a month – which is amazing value for what you get! When you open the box you get a menu letting you know more detail behind each snack and the brand so you are fully informed, and the variety of things you receive is amazing! Each month is different but my highlights this month were the Rude Health Beetroot Bar (So good and different to what you would expect!) and some delicious sweet potato crisps which totally settled my salty snack craving on one tough work afternoon!

So those are my favourites for the month of April, May is already looking like it is going to be a fun month because it’s my hubby’s birthday month! We have lots of plans catching up with friends we haven’t seen in ages over the bank holiday weekend which will be lovely!

Hope you all have had a wonderful April and that May is shaping up to be a kick ass month!

Until next time

Little Lemon xxx

Leave a Reply

