Fab 5 – Get the Glow Make up Look

IMG_2768

So as the sun comes out and the days get longer, pub gardens get busier you don’t want to spend a huge amount of time layering on make-up for it to sweat off – but you still want a put together, summer friendly look!

Below is one of my weekend go to look at the moment and I think its bright, light and fun. So I know I pitched this as a ‘quick’ look but some preparation is needed, and this for me means tanning.

IMG_2660I know fake tanning isn’t everyone’s thing, but for me when I have a bit more of a sun kissed glow I feel much more confident with minimal make-up. I am a diehard St Tropez fan, I have tried many other brands and I always go back to the bronzing moose. I have been using this product on and off since I was around 17! When it comes to the face I like something a bit lighter – you can always bronze your face up to match, but trying to tone down an overly tanned face is pretty much impossible! I really like this Ambre Solarie 1 week glow for the face, it is light in texture, smells nice and gives you a warm glow without being overly ‘bronzed’ as such. I wouldn’t say it lasts a week – but a couple of applications a week is ideal.

So on weekends, or when I feel a bit more tanned I try to avoid a full face of make-up, I justIMG_2659 like to use a couple of products to really get that glow. First and foremost is a new offering from Benefit which I am obsessed with – Dew the Hoola. This is a quid bronzer which I like to dot and blend around the high points of the face when the sun would naturally hit – temples, under the cheek bones – you know the drill! The formula is light and a little goes a long way (it will take me ages to get through this bottle!) and its super blendable and easy to work with – so if you are slightly frightened of bronzer and looking muddy or dirty this will be your new best friend.

When it comes to highlighters I have two which I am loving which I find are both multi-use – one high end and one more high street/drugstore. So from the high end of the market is the Becca shimmering skin perfecter in Champagne Pop. I have spoken about this now in several posts but this golden toned highlight packs a punch and a little goes a long way! From the cheaper end of the market you will struggle to find anything as good as the Sleek highlight pallet in solstice. This has one cream product and 3 powder highlighters of differing tones but all of them are crazy pigmented – so be aware of this when applying! With highlighter I apply to the tops of my cheekbones, cupids now but also for a real glow I also double up as a sweep of eyeshadow if I want my eyes to pop – the cream shade in the Sleek pallet is perfect for this!

IMG_2656So then for the lips – nothing says spring/summer like a coral lip – with glowing tanned skin is just divine and my go-to for this has been Mac’s Tropic Tonic. This is a pure, bright matte coral which is just incredible! I have worn it a few times now and I get so many compliments on it, I feel it just brightens up your whole face!

 

So those are my favourite glow givers – add on a slip of mascara and some brow gel if so inclined and you’re good to go!

Until next time

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

