A Little Positive Thinking…

It has felt like 2016 has been a bit of a rough ride for a lot of us, and especially after the news of last week both close to home (in England) and across the pond (my thoughts are with you USA friends) I thought now was as good a time as any to spend some time reflecting on the positive things in our lives. So here are 5 things that I am positive about – both big and small.

  1. All things festive

It’s getting to that time of year – the red cups are back and the battle of the Christmas adverts has begun. I love this time of year, I find I enjoy the lead up to Christmas much more fun than the day itself (although I love the freedom to eat and drink all day!). I will say this year my favourite advert so far is M&S’s offering – focusing on Mrs Claus – they say behind every great man and all that! I also love the John Lewis advert and feel like it’s getting a bad wrap – sure it’s not as hard hitting or teary as normal but after this year I am not sure I could have coped with something intense!

If you haven’t seen it yet – then below is the M&S ad – give it a watch you wont regret it!

  1. Raising Awareness – Equal Pay Day

Last week my work took part in Stylist magazines Equal Pay Day initiative. On 10th November, women could leave work at 3.34pm to represent the 18% pay gap between men and women meaning that essentially they will now not be paid till the end of the year versus their male counterparts. This gap is even bigger for women from different ethnic backgrounds;

Although this was just a symbolic gesture it felt great to be taking a stand for something which I strongly believe in – nothing better from making you feel accomplished and positive.

IMG_4936.JPG

  1. Decorating Our House

We have now been in our house for 2 months and although we have done some of the simple stuff like put up pictures and buy soft furnishing but we have finally ventured into the realm of paint swatches and putting some actual colour on the wall! It sounds silly but it is finally sinking in that this is for real! Once the finishing touches are done I will be putting up a bunch of house tour posts – watch this space!

  1. Cold Weather & Wrapping Up

I can’t tell you how happy I am that the weather is getting colder – I love nothing more than layering up a cosy jumper with hats and scarfs…. Bliss! Oh and picking out a winter coat and this year the high street has so many gorgeous ones to choose from. My favourite days are the ones which are sunny but icy cold, leaving the streets paved with sparkling frost and your fingers nip with the cold – only solution is to warm them up with a glass of mulled wine or cider.

  1. Autumn Candles

I am a tad obsessed with candles – my husband thinks it’s a problem and I find the urge to purchase is heightened even more at this time of year. Getting in, cuddling under a blanket with a few candles on is my ultimate way to wind down after a long day. My current favourites are Bath & Body Works pumpkin spiced cheesecake and leaves and on the pricier end of the scale Jo Malone Pomegranate Noir.

img_4653

So those are some simple things which are bringing me joy right now and reminding me to be positive – it is a very therapeutic exercise I promise! If you choose to do the same – put your 5 things below.

Until next time

Leave a Reply

