Sun Care Skin Essentials!

So I realise this is a little odd timing wise given we are in cold, damp January but I am off on my first sunshine holiday in a long time, so when it came round to pursuing the isles of Boots for sun essentials I came across some great finds and old favourites.

First probably the most important thing, sun care. I am particular about my sun care due to having skin which is prone to heat rash and reactions to some high street SPF’s so I always stick to Piz Buin. I buy the ‘One Day Long’ (£12.50) tan in SPF 30, when I was younger I used to use no higher than SPF 15 and there were even times I even used a factor 8 oil – I shudder at the thought now knowing how bad for your skin that can be! I also work it out at around one bottle per week so I have two of the 200ML bottles for the full two weeks. When it comes to my face I use something of a higher SPF and my favourite is the Kiehl’s Ultra Light Défense (£35) which a UVA and B SPA 50+ protection and is what I use every day regardless, I have also packed the The Body Shop Skin Defence SPF 50 (£16.00) this is a cream which turns into a refreshing gel which absorbs super quickly and feels comfortable on the skin.

Then for after sun, firstly for in the shower I bought this Vichy Ideal Soleil After Sun In-Shower Oil (£13) you apply this oil in the shower and rinse off. It is packed with tons of amazing natural oils including shea oil and a variety of vegetable oils such as apricot kernel, coriander seed, blackcurrant seed and echium which are all rich in fatty acids, and it’s paraben free.

As I have very dry skin even at home in the UK, I then follow up with my after sun moisturiser of choice, Dr Organic Manika Honey skin lotion (£7.59). Not only does it combine manuka honey which is great for healing and your skin but it also contains cocoabutter and shea butter so it’s a powerhouse of skin softening and deeply moisturising goodness – perfect for post sun!

I also love taking multi-use products on holiday and a good dry oil is a perfect example. Mine of choice is the Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse Multi-Use Dry Oil (£28). Firstly this smells incredible, and I use this on my hair while set to give the ends some love but also dry to give it a nice sheen and separate my waves. I have also before I headed away have been using it on my face instead of a night cream to give it some deep hydration. It contains six precious botanical oils (Macadamia, Hazelnut, Borage, Almond, Camellia and St. John’s Wort) and Vitamin E. I will be adding this to my legs and arms in the evening to give an extra boost of moisture but also a lovely glowy sheen to my skin.

Then last, but by no means least if there is any parts which get a little ‘over sunned’ then you can’t beat a pure aloe vera gel – I picked up this Aloe Vera Gel Bio Active Skin Treatment (£7.49) in Holland and Barrett and it does the trick. My hubby is sensitive to the skin and if he has ever burned a little this has worked a treat!

So, those are what are packed in my case to make sure I am safe and hopefully get a bit of colour and come back with my skin glowing!

Until next time x

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

