The Happiness Project – Month 1 – Mindfulness

So as we come to the end of the month it is time to reflect back on how I’ve got on with my mini challenges of my first month of my happiness project focusing around Mindfulness. I feel like it’s been a real learning curve on this whole process – so how have I got on?

Meditate everyday – even if it’s only 5 minutes

This one has been a mixed bag – I would say I achieved this around 60% of the time. Where I found it really tricky was fitting it in and after a long day it would be the last thing on my mind, which is silly because it was those times that I really should have done it to help me relax. It’s been a pretty stressful month for lots of reasons out of my control and I think I have handled it better than I previously would have. I have found that I am more mindful of how I am feeling, and when I am getting stressed and upset I am reminded to breathe. Will I keep it up, yes I will. I would love to say everyday but I think if I can get into the habit 3 or more times a week I will be on my way to leading a more mindful life.

Learn more about Mindfulness and other Meditation Practices

So I have been doing a lot of research on the subject of mindfulness, in fact I took an online course about how you can use mindfulness. You can do it free via Coursera if you are looking at understanding more of the science and detail.  I have also bought Buddha’s Brain: The Practical Neuroscience of Happiness, Love and Wisdom but I will admit I haven’t read it yet, I’ve been very engrossed in many other books.  I didn’t do much else in this area but I will be.

Write down 3 things I am grateful for daily

I did this but I adapted it – I decided to write one sentence daily which I have kept up and I have been really enjoying it. I have found especially as it has been a little ‘tense’ at the moment in some aspects of life, focusing on the positive has really helped me. I also love seeing in ink just how lucky I am in life. Of all of the things this month, this one I really, really want to keep up.

So, that’s my overview of my first month of my happiness project, some hits and misses but overall I think it’s been a success! There are some new habits I want to keep up. I will put up a post on my next month’s focus and goals shortly!

Until next time x

Leave a Reply

