January Favorites!

We are already one month down in 2017, and what an awesome month it’s been for me. The first couple of weeks were all leading up to a gorgeous sun soaked two weeks in Cuba with the husband which was just incredible – there will be a full post and pics coming soon! As I was away for the majority of Jan my favourites are quite weighted to things I used or listened to on holiday! So let’s get started!

Vichy Ideal Soleil After Sun In-Shower Oil (£13)

If you read my Sun Skincare Essentials post before I headed off you will have seen I bought this to give it a try and I can’t rave about it enough. This oil is packed with tons of amazing natural oils including shea oil and a variety of vegetable oils such as apricot kernel, coriander seed, blackcurrant seed and echium which are all rich in fatty acids, and it’s paraben free, so it’s perfect for quenching sun parched skin. I applied a layer of this all over before rinsing off in the shower and it left my skin feeling incredibly soft. If you are one of those people who like the super squeaky clean skin post shower you might not like this as it does leave a slight film to the skin. It is a skin must have and will be joining me on many more sunshine breaks!

img_6022

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion (£14)

Before I went on holiday I was really struggling with some seriously big, bad ass spots around my chin line and nothing seemed to be working on getting rid of them. I’d read about the Mario Badescu range before but had never tried anything but had heard this was a miracle worker when it came to stubborn spots – and it does live up to the hype! After my evening skin routine I pop some of this on using a cotton bud and dab it straight onto the spot and let it dry. You look a little like a crazy person but when you wake up you will be amazed! It dries up even the most stubborn spots that don’t have a head as such (sorry gross TMI I realise!). After using for a couple of days, you will be spot free, or at least well on your way to it!

fullsizerender-copy-2

Beauty Pie FutureLipstick Matte Lipstick in Cowboy Nude (RRP £20, Subscription price £2.24)

This lipstick hasn’t left my lips all month – I love it. If you haven’t already heard of Beauty Pie it is a new style of beauty subscription where you pay a £10 fee a month to be able to buy the products at the unmarked up cost, if you want to read more I’ve done a whole post dedicated to it which you can read here. This is a gorgeous browny nude shade and the quality is amazing, although it’s a matte finish it is super comfortable to wear and isn’t drying at all – such a winner!

img_6467

 Bumble and Bumble Surf Spray (£9.50 for 50ml)

This is a rediscovery for me this month – an old classic if you will! When I go on holiday I take no hair styling tools with me, I like to take it as an opportunity to give my hair a well deserved rest! I simply towel dry my hair and spray some of this in and let it work it’s magic in the heat of the Caribbean!  I have also been using it when I’ve got home after adding some waves in my hair with my GHDs to make it look less ‘done’ and more effortless!

fullsizerender-1-copy

Podcast – No Such Thing as a Fish

This podcast was a saviour on holiday when I couldn’t sleep, I found myself waking up very early and I would often go for a walk to watch the sun coming up with this podcast for company! It is four of the fact finders from the TV show QI who sit around to discuss their fnstaafavourite facts of the week. The result is interesting and at times hilarious in equal measures! Did you know Guantanamo Bay has a gift shop and a subway, or that people are making nappy’s out of lobsters? Nope me either! There are hundreds of episodes so if you’re looking for something to keep you entertained on your commute or during your workout – look no further!

 

So those are the things which have got me through the first month of the year, February is already  shaping up well with a trip scheduled to Devon for my birthday weekend!

Until next time x

 

Leave a Reply

