What I Eat in a Day!

With my February being focused on good eating and exercise I would share with you what I’ve been eating. This was on a Wednesday when I was working from home so I had a little bit more time to eat, especially breakfast.

One of the big changes I’ve made is trying to have something green or colourful (aka veggies!) with each meal! Below is what I tucked into and any of the recipes I’ve used – hopefully it gives you some foodspiration!

Breakfast

Chorizo and baby potato hash with scrambled egg, smashed avocado and rye toast. Oh and a glass of green juice.

fullsizerender-copy

I had some left over new potatoes from dinner last night so I added some chorizo for flavour and topped it off with eggs and avocado – two of my favourites! As for my green juice this is my fail safe recipe…

  • 1 x Kiwi
  • 1 x small banana
  • 1 x stick of celery
  • ½ avocado
  • 1 x handful of spinach
  • Coconut water

Then combine together and enjoy – I sometimes add in mango for extra sweetness and ginger if I’m feeling a bit run down.

Lunch

Baked Potato and homemade spiced baked beans with cheese and a bowl of spinach with lemon olive oil.

fullsizerender-1

Is there anything more tasty than baked beans and cheese baked potato? Well I wanted to do it with my own twist to give extra flavour and so I could control all the ingredients. It really couldn’t be simpler – my failsafe recipe is..

  • Chorizo (just a little)
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tin butter beans
  • 1 tin black eyed beans
  • 1 x kidney beans
  • Pinch of paprika
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper

It is as simple as frying off the chorizo and then adding all the ingredients (training the beans first) and letting simmer away for around 30 minutes or pop it in the slow cooker for a couple of hours.

Dinner

Lamb and Feta burgers with roasted butternut squash, red onion and courgette with spinach drizzled with lemon olive oil.

fullsizerender-2

I am a big fan of greek food, I love all the flavours. To make the burgers I took lamb mince and combined with egg, oregano and some salt and pepper. My biggest burger tip is to let them firm up in the fridge for around 30 mins before cooking – it helps keep them together when cooked.

I took the veg and tossed it in some oil with oregano (to go with the burgers) and slow roasted for around 45 minutes. Once done I sprinkled some feta over the burgers and added some spinach and drizzled with my trusty Carluccios lemon oil – it’s perfect for dressing salads.

Other

I always try and drink as much water as possible and I always get my 2 litres a day easily. I also usually allow myself one coffee per-morning and then switch to tea and usually a peppermint tea late afternoon.

It is also highly unusual that there is no snacking on this list! I am a big fan of a snack but I find because I take my time to eat at home I don’t get as distracted as I do when I’m in the office!

I will do another instalment of this before the end of the month – would you rather a office day what I eat in a day on a weekend?

Until next time! X

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

