Brand Review – The Ordinary Skincare

I am a big fan of expensive skincare, I tend to be open to drugstore/high-street make-up but when it comes to my skin I was always told by my mum that you only get one set of skin so to look after it! I have been known to spend £85 on night oil and £50 on various creams, lotions and potions. When I heard The Ordinary were using the same high end ingredients, oils and acids as some of the high-end brands but all the products were under £20 – I couldn’t help but put them to the test.

The Ordinary’s philosophy is all about clinical skincare with integrity. It is free of mineral oils, parabens and sulphates and are super honest about all their ingredients.  I have 4 items from the range which I have now been trying out for just over two weeks so I can give my true impressions on them.

IMG_6872

First thing is I love the packaging, it is meant to be pared back keeping the price down, but I love the simple glass bottle with a dropper and the moisturiser tubes are simple but classic looking, maybe a tad on the small side but I’ve learned a little product goes a long way!

The first item I bought was to replace my previous day serum (a Jan – March empty products post is coming soon!) and to help my parched skin, so I bought the Matrixyl 10% + HA 30ml (£9). I use this after cleansing in the morning and before my day cream. This serum is all about anti-aging and hydration. Matrixyl is designed to help boost collagen and encourage skin repairing and HA (Hyaluronic Acid) is about pure hydration and holds multiple times its weight in water. It is a clear gel which has no scent (so perfect for sensitive skins) and it absorbs into the skin quickly and doesn’t leave a sticky residue.

IMG_6875

Next up is The Caffeine Solution 5%  + EGCG 30ml (£7) eye serum which is targeted at puffy eyes and dark circles, both of which I suffer with. The caffeine is for obstructing blood vessels to tackle discolouration and swelling. EGCG contains green tea and perfect for dry skin. I also love that it is a gel texture and not a cream which I sometimes worry are heavy for such delicate skin. Since it came on the scene all other eye products have been packed away.

IMG_6876

This is potentially the biggest revelation for me! I am a serious fan of Sunday Riley’s Luna Oil which is a staggering £85! It is a retinoid based oil which seriously transforms your skin overnight. So when beauty YouTuber Fleur de Force (one of my fav’s) said that the Advanced Retinoid 2% 30ml (£8) was a dupe I had to see for myself. Retinoids are all about tackling texture and signs of ageing by encouraging the production of new skin cells. It is a milky texture and sinks into the skin nicely. This is brilliant, it’s in my opinion a close second to my Luna oil, so much so I think I am going to be hard pushed to justify spending so much on something so similar!

IMG_6874

Last, but by no means least is the Natural Moisturising Factors + HA 30ml (£5.95) which I have been using both in the day and the evening on and off! It contains amino acids which are important for skin health and hyaluronic acid which as I said before is all about hydration for the skin. This is a little tube but a little goes a long way, and what I really love about this is the texture. I often find with products which boast to be hydrating often take a long time to sink in and can leave the skin tacky and this couldn’t be further from that. It leaves your skin feeling velvety soft and supple – a great base to then apply make-up.

IMG_6873

Overall I have been blown away by the Ordinary’s offering, my skin has been great and in fact I had a compliment only this weekend that my skin was glowing when I ventured out make-up free. I am definitely going to be investing in more of the range (I have my eye on the rosehip oil!) and would recommend you to do the same!

1 Comment

  1. I recently purchased both the primers from this range as I felt it was the safest place to start & really enjoyed them. I think I’m ready now to venture further, this was very helpful, thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

