ColourPop Haul & First Impressions

I watch a lot of American YouTubers and they all rave about ColourPop, so i’ve been itching to get my hands on some items to give them a try. So when they started shipping to the UK I quickly placed an order. I have been playing with the products for a couple of weeks now so I thought I would share my thoughts!

Firstly, I love their website – it is incredibly easy to shop and when buying any lip products they give you images of the colours on the lip which is brilliant, there is nothing more frustrating than when it looks totally different than it does in the tube!

When browsing around, I found the section of their site with all their collaborations (mostly with YouTubers) and I came across the Kathleen Lights items, they were just gorgeous! So I picked up a Lippie Stix in Aquarius ($5), Where the Light Is eyeshadow bundle (with 4 items) ($18),  Colourgel eyeliner in Mr Bing ($5) and the Aquarius bundle ($15) which contains one ultra glossy lip, ultra satin lip and ultra matte lip. I picked this up so I could try one of each of their lip formulas. The total of my order came to $43 (£35) making it very affordable.

IMG_6809

Shipping wasn’t overly expensive to the UK, it was $9.99 which is around £8 – which is great compared to many American brands, however be aware of customs charges – mine ended up being £17 which does of course bump the price up quite a lot!

Now for the products themselves – firstly the eyeshadows. These are like no other formula I have experienced with eye shadows, they are halfway between a cream and powder formula! It is incredibly hard to describe but what it does mean is they are very pigmented and blendable so they are easy to work with. This bundle is perfect for all those who like a warm toned eye look, the colour Cornellius is so beautiful, it’s a warm almost peachy brown which one lazier days I’ve just been rocking all over the lid on it’s own.

IMG_6811

IMG_6812

Staying with eye’s is the liner in Mr Bing, this is a gorgeous coppery brown, and for a low key look I’ve been using this on the lash line as well as in place of a liquid liner for a softer look – I love that it is a twist up liner which makes it easier to user and control and it blends out like a dream.

Now for lips – I am officially obsessed with the Lippie Stix formula and the packaging. These are brilliant for in your handbag, they are so compact I love it. The formula is lovely and creamy and super pigmented. The only down side for me is the smell – it has a very synthetic chocolate sweet smell. I thought the colour would be more on the pinky side but it is a gorgeous warm nude colour, I love it.

IMG_6847

Now for the Aquarius bundle, now when it arrived I was most excited for the gloss. I have been a big lover of a matte lip for a while but was looking to mix it up. Unfortunately, there was obviously a packaging issue on my products and I have ended up with two satin lips and one matte – no gloss! I did contact ColourPop and after a bit of a frustrating email exchange (I had to send pictures of the tubes individually including the bottom of them, the packing slip and a picture of the box – which involved an embarrassing bin raid!) and after two weeks of emails I got a code for $6. Yup, that’s it. After the customs charge and general hassle, it was a little disappointing.

So, will I be buying anything more from ColourPop? Despite the mix up I think I will – In fact I have already had a quick look at more of the lippie stix colours which I want to buy, but I am still going strong with my no beauty purchases for lent! I am so proud of myself!

Until next time x

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

