MAC Collab – Fleur de Force & Alessandra Steinherr Review, Swatches & Lip Liner Suggestions

Some of my first forays into make-up involved me browsing the MAC make-up counter in Glasgow House of Fraser and treating myself to a lipstick. I remember my first purchase (Ruby Woo) and I was hooked, there really is nothing like the smell of a brand new Mac lipstick.

I also follow a lot of people in the beauty community so when I found out that two of my favourites, beauty blogger/youtuber Fleur De Force and Glamour beauty editor Alessandra Steinherr were teaming up with Mac to bring out their dream lipsticks which were both stunning nudes – I just had to have them.

I ordered these on the MAC website, which on a side note I just don’t enjoy the shopping experience like I do in store, and they arrived within 3 days. They are each £16.50 which is standard for a MAC lipstick.

Firstly the box packaging is gorgeous and looks very stand out from their – it’s black and white with a hand written writing style. The actual lipstick bullets look like the standard MAC lippies with the silver sticker and name on the bottom.

FullSizeRender (3)

Now to the colours – in photographs they look very similar but they are different! The Alessandra finish is a lustre finish so it gives a lovely sheen to the lips. This is a stunning pinky nude which is very much a ‘your lips but better’ colour. I have been really enjoying this on lighter make-up days where I don’t want anything too in your face but look a bit more pulled together!

In comparison the Fleur de Force shade is a cremesheen finish (her personal fav) so it is really comfortable to wear but has less of a shine than the Alessandra colour. This is still a stunning nude but is definitely more of a true nude with a hint of peachy tones.

FullSizeRender (1)

I also thought what would be useful is letting you know what lip liners I have been pairing with these colours. I tried where possible to show you swatches with MAC lip liners but there is a sneaky guest star from Charlotte Tilbury!

So with the Alessandra colour I’ve been using the MAC lip pencil in ‘Soar’ and also the Charlotte Tilbury lip cheat in ‘Pillow Talk’. Both of these are on the mauve / pink side which I think really brings out the pinky tones. For the Fleur de Force lip I have been wearing ‘Spice’ and ‘Dervish’ which have more of a deep nude undertone.

FullSizeRender (2)

FullSizeRender

I am also aware that MAC have done these collabs worldwide however you can only purchase the ones from your region – which I think is a real shame as some of the US collabs also looked gorgeous.

I love both of these shades and I have been wearing them a lot since I purchased them, if I had to choose I think I’ve been reaching for the Alessandra shade more than Fleur but I truly believe I will get a lot of wear out of both.

Until next time

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

