Silicone Beauty Sponge – Does it Work?

We have seen all of the viral videos online of people applying base products using all sorts of odd methods (hello someone’s ballsack –  too far people!) but the one that kicked it all off was the silicone make-up ‘sponge’.

I purchased mine from amazon and I got two for the bargain price of £8.35 (click here to buy!) and it arrived next day thanks to amazon prime. I am a big lover of a traditional beauty sponge, but I was intrigued by the fact that this way of application means that you use less product and it is much more sanitary and easy to clean without the need for brush cleaner. I do admit it does look a little like a tiny breast implant!!!

FullSizeRender - Copy

But does it work? I have mixed feelings on this really! You really need hardly any product to do your full face. When I first started using this I used too much product and I found I was just smearing it around my face and I just couldn’t get it to fully blend in. Since this I use barely any foundation, as little as half a pump and that will do my whole face, and sometimes even a little less with more full coverage foundation.

The method I use is almost a buffing circular motion as opposed to the traditional ‘bopping’ method that is used with fabric sponges. It leaves a very flawless and blended base which I have also found has had great lasting power which is always a winner in my book.

FullSizeRender (1) - Copy

I have been using this method of application for around 3 weeks now and I like it – I do sometimes get a bit heavy handed and have to get a sponge or a brush and I do find I still stick to a sponge for my concelar and powder for setting under my eyes. I do also think it’s brilliant for travel – it’s really compact and of course easy to clean!

So do I give it the thumbs up – yes I think I do! Have any of you tried out this new sili=sponge? If so let me know how you got on below!

Until next time x

4 Comments

  1. I haven’t tried one of these yet, but have read so many things on them! I am not sure whether I want to take the step as I have just got myself a beauty sponge and love it!

    Like

  2. I really want to try these but I havent because I felt like I would slip and slide everywhere haha! I’ve noticed Primark are doing them pretty cheap! Might go grab one after reading this! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

