My Self Tan Routine

I find when I’m feeling a bit ‘meh’ and not all that confident or when I’m over tired and feeling a bit grey nothing makes more of a difference than a lick of self-tan! I wouldn’t say I’m a huge tan-a-holic but having a bit of a bronzed glow makes me feel and look so much healthier! I have been suffering with rubbish sleep patterns for a while now but I continue to get complimented about how rested and healthy I am looking and I put it down to having a bit of a (fake) beachy glow!

I don’t fake than that regularly – I probably do it once a week and maybe give my face a bit of a top-up throughout the week as I wash my face more regularly than my body. First it’s all about prepping my skin, I have quite dry skin and some really stubborn dry patches on my arms so I like to give myself a good scrub to make sure it is clean and smooth for tan application. At the moment I am loving the Say Yes to Coconuts Polishing Body Scrub for Dry Skin (£7.99) – it smells delicious and adds a bit of moisture to my dry skin – I think it’s brilliant for the price.

FullSizeRender - Copy (2)

Once I get out the shower I then slather myself in a nice rich body cream – at the moment I am going for the Palmers Coconut Oil Formula Body Lotion (£2.79) (can you sense a coconut theme here?) which is super thick but It doesn’t leave my skin feeling tacky or sticky.

Now time of the main event – the tan! I am obsessed with this Bondi Sands Liquid Gold self-tanner (£13.99). I had been searching for a bottle of this for ages so when I eventually found it I bought two. It is a dry oil texture that you spray on and rub in (use a mitt otherwise you will have tango hands!) and you can then dress and go. It smells like coconuts (yes by the end of this process I just smell like a giant coconut) and it doesn’t transfer onto clothing or bedsheets which is the dream. I find this turns me a lovely olivey toned colour which is very similar to how I look in the sun regardless which is great.

I don’t however put this on my face – for that I have always used the Ambre Solaire No Streaks Bronzer Face in Light (£8.49) which is super easy to use. Once I’ve done my skincare routine in the evening I simply spray this all over and let it settle – no need for rubbing in or faffing. I also spray this down my neck to make it merge into my body and prevent a big white neck! The spray on this is super fine and it doesn’t break me out or clog my pores!

FullSizeRender (1) - Copy

After this I then just wait to develop and I am a bronzed and ready to go – as I said this routine takes me through a week before it starts to fade, but it doesn’t go overly patchy which is great.

So, that is how I am preventing the sight of my pale legs from scaring anyone this spring summer!

Until next time x

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

