Primed and Ready

I have only recently fully embraced primer as part of my everyday make-up routine in the past few months. I associated primers with heavy or silicone based products which sat on the skin, but when I realised primers could do much more than just keep my make-up on longer, I started to see them as an extra step in my skincare and I’ve been hooked ever since.

I change my primers up depending on how my skin is at that particular moment, these are my top picks, there is something here for everyone and every skin woe!

FullSizeRender - Copy

For a big of added glow…

With it now being summer we are all after that healthy, glowy skin but without looking greasy or sweaty – so I find a winning combination is a glow primer followed by a semi-matte foundation. There are some seriously expensive glowy primers out there but I think the Loreal Lumi Magique Primer (£10.99) is a great buy. It’s a pearly white liquid which instantly sinks into skin to give it a real lit from within glow – I also think it adds an extra boost of hydration which is always a winner with my dry skin.

For a hydration boost…

Then look no further than the Too Faced Hangover RX Coconut Face Primer (£27) – this is the most refreshing but lightweight primer which feels so nice to use. This wonder product is infused with coconut water, probiotic based ingredients, and skin revivers that work together to boost skin’s radiance, promote elasticity and help hydrate all day. I wouldn’t say this helps keep your make-up on longer but does help you skin to look fresh. The milky consistency sinks in super quick and foundation application is super smooth after. I have heard they have released a setting spray version I wouldn’t mind giving a go!

For longer lasting makeup…

…now I realise I’ve said about silicone primers above but there really is a time and a place for these – usually special events and long days when you really need your make-up to stay on all day and look flawless. In my opinion the best is the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer (£26). It blurs out fine lines and pores but also has vitamin A & E and grapeseed extract to help soften the skin. I wore this on my wedding day and it didn’t let me down and looked great in the photos!

The spray primer…

If you don’t want to feel like you are clogging up your skin by adding another lotion to rub in – then this Urban Decay B6 Vitamin-Infused Complexion Prep Priming spray (£23.50) might be a great choice for you. This spray preps, primes and balances the complexion while evening out skin tone, absorbing oil and reducing shine – I have dry skin but I do find in the hotter weather I get a bit shiny in the t-zone so this is perfect. You can also use throughout the day to give you make-up a boost throughout the day, making it a great multi-use purchase.

The great all rounder…

If you don’t have the money to spend on multiple primers for all of the above and need one good all-rounder, then the Bio-Infusion Breathable Primer from Beauty Pie (RRP £24 / Sign up Cost £3.11) is a great option. This will hydrate the skin, add a bit of glow and helps even out the skin tone. Will it make you look last all night – not as well as the Smashbox one but it does the job. It is a light texture as the name would suggest and sinks in a dream – it also have a similar smell to the Too Faced version.

FullSizeRender (1)

So those are the primers which I reach for in my collection depending on the day – I think a lot of the most common skin ailments are covered above! Am I missing any must-have primers? If so please let me know below!

Until next time x

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

