September Favorites

I think now we are officially into October I can finally say HELLO AUTUMN! I am in my element and this time of the year – I find dressing in autumn much easier and I love wrapping up cosy of an evening with a glass of red and some candles on – bliss!

But September was a great month the biggest highlight being my first favourite…myself and the hubby went to gorgeous Venice this month. I rarely fall head over heels for cities on a short break –  I often love them but when it comes to booking somewhere I always choose somewhere new – but Venice seems to have broken the spell and I cannot wait to go back! I won’t go on about what we got up to because I have a whole post dedicated to where we stayed, ate and drank and saw – you can check it out here.

IMG_9408

On the random track of favourites the next one is the fact that September saw the return of Strictly come Dancing *squeeeee* (the UK version of Dancing with the Stars for those Americans out there!). This is my ultimate favourite TV programme – I have watched it since it started and if I am on the sofa on a Saturday night with a glass of wine and some candles on I could not be happier. This season has some amazing celebs on it – from Alexandra Burke, Simon Rimmer, Aston Merrigold and the gorgeous Mollie King – I won’t spoil any of it but I can’t recommend checking in enough!

209

So the rest of my favourites have been more skincare and body care focused – not that I haven’t been loving make-up this month I have just found that my routine has been largely the same (if you want me to do a current make-up favourites / go -to’s let me know!).

First up is the Kiehls Midnight Recovery Cleansing Oil (£32). I have been using this as my second cleanse once I’ve taken off the majority of my make-up. Firstly – this smells gorgeous – it has lavender oil in there so it’s perfect for using before bed to help you relax. This really helps get those last bits of make-up off without over-drying your skin. Afterwards my skin feels clean but not tight – it’s gorgeous.

IMG_9623

Sticking on the skincare front I’ve been using the Drunk Elephant La La Retro whipped cream ($60) as my day cream. You can only get Drunk Elephant skincare in the US (Sephora does ship but watch out for customs charges!) which is such a bummer because after using this I want it all! This cream is thick and luxurious but it sinks into the skin so well and it leaves my skin looking glowy. Also after using I find my foundation goes on a dream! The thing I really love about this is it’s a flat pad pump which only disperses the perfect amount of product without having to stick your finger in a jar which I always think would be super unhygienic!

IMG_9626

Lastly, a body care favorite! With the weather getting colder and the heating going on in the office and on public transport  – my skin on my body has been feeling really dry so any extra change to boost hydration and I am sold! The L’occitane Almond Shower Oil (£19) is a dream – it smells heavenly and when it comes into contact with water gives you a warming feeling on the skin. It doesn’t foam but it does create a rich creamy lather which leaves the skin feeling super soft – I have gone through half a bottle in a month so I’ve had to start using it every other shower or it may be an expensive monthly spending ritual!

FullSizeRender

So that is everything I’ve been loving in September – I am looking forward to a fun filled October of cosy nights in and also a trip to Budapest at the end of the month – please let me know If you have any recommendations!

 

Leave a Reply

